DIY Cold remedies

Blow+me.+It+irritates+me+when+I+have+to+blow_d1a2be_4283535

I have had one killer fever inducing cold this last week, that’s left me exhausted and cranky. I got myself some antibiotics, but I have very little faith in modern medicine and constantly think I’ve been sold placebos.

There are better and perhaps healthier ways to make sure you get better faster and stay that way.

The first thing is drinking plenty of water and resting up, so that your body has a chance to just focus on battling the cold. You can use steam to clear your nasal passage ways, and use disposable tissue(no, not tp) rather than a hanky to blow your nose.

hot-ginger-tea-with-lemon-and-honeyWhenever I feel a cold coming on, my go to beverage is honey, lemon and ginger tea. The mix of all these ingredients that each have their own healing qualities creates a calming tea that can ease symptoms and boosts your immune system. Try the ‘hot, honey, lemon and ginger beverage at Java, it’s a lifesaver.

Green tea is also a great option, it has catechins (a type of antioxidant) that some studies show, can kill bacteria and inhibit viruses like the influenza virus, potentially lowering your risk of infections.  (1)

Garlic water is something else I take, just because I’m not a fan of chewing it. It’s great for boosting the immune system and has other additional benefits. So, I just crush a clove of garlic, add it and water to a glass, leave it to sit then strain. 

There are also some yummy nom options:

1) The standard dish for a cold is chicken soup, well how about Côte d’Azur Cure-All Soup? It’s easy to prepare and tastes delish. It also doubles up as a hangover cure.

phpThumb_generated_thumbnail

If you’re looking for something a little more filling, try Kimchi Jjigae, which Marc describes as a ‘bubbling, red hot cauldron of soul satisfying soup made with kimchi, pork and tofu.’ Kimchi isn’t something a lot of people here are familiar with (unless you’re a kdrama fan) – it’s basically fermented cabbage, but there’s an art to it so don’t get all tequila faced. I found an easy enough recipe for it here: How to make Homemade Kimchi.

Kimchi Jjigae Recipe

3) Flu-Fighter Cookies who says you can’t indulge your sweet tooth? This recipe has dried fruit in it, cloves, and oats which are all good for the body. But I don’t think I ever realized the benefits of dried fruit. Not all of them are good for you though, especially if They are store-bought. For this recipe, I suggest switching the cranberries with Black Currant.

flu_fighting_cookies_11

Last but not least

4) Low-fat Apple and Raspberry Crumble. Now this is a treat that will boost your spirits, and make your inside feel warm and buttery (in a good way).

diabetic-friendly-pear-and-raspberry-crumble

Being sick doesn’t mean lying in bed, chewing on a piece of garlic while you try not to drown in your own mucus. You can fix yourself something yummy that will help you feel better, and it’ll give you an excuse to move around and stretch your limbs.

 

 

Let me know what you think :)

