Mmmmm…chicken wings

sweet-and-sour-chicken-wings-34675-ss

 

My friend recently asked me if I’d ever had a meal at Brew Bistro & Lounge and I was like “people do that?” Now, I’m not saying I’m a professional boozist, but when I think of Brew I think of well…..brew.
So I decided to try their chicken wings, let me just say I was not disappointed. The sauce was perfect, the chicken was moist and I was sad when it was over. I wouldn’t say it’d be an every day lunch option, but a once in a while cocktails and wings thing with my mates is definitely a plan.chicken-wings-and-a-cocktail

 

I thought it would also be a good idea to share some wings recipes you can try yourselves, perfect for Sunday brunch.

The first is the easiest.

Spicey Chicken wings:

What you need:

  • Chicken Wings 200gm
  • Oil for Frying 4cups

Hot sauce:

  • Exotic Sriracha Hot Chilli/Sweet Chilli Sauce  1Cup (brand optional)
  • 1/4 butter
  • Black pepper and salt to taste

Dip

  • Mayo 1tbsp
  • 1/4 Blue cheese
  • Sour cream 1tbsp
  • Celery

This next one is a recipe from Recipe.com that I’ve tweaked an ity-bit.

Honey-Masturd Chicken Wings:

honey-mustard-chicken-wings-R158285-ss

What you need:

  • 1.4kg chicken wings, rinsed and patted dry with paper towels
  • 2tbsp neutral oil, like grapeseed or corn
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup Dijon mustard (brand optional)
  • 2tbsp honey

What to do:

  • Heat the oven to 180 degrees C. Grease a roasting pan lightly, then put the chicken wings in, drizzle with the oil, and sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper. Toss to coat and spread the wings out in a single layer.
  • Roast, undisturbed, until the bottom of the pan is coated with fat and the wings are beginning to brown, about 15 minutes. Use a spoon to baste the wings with the drippings, then carefully pour the extra fat out of the pan and flip them over (if they’re sticking, give them an extra 5 minutes).
  • Combine 1/4 cup melted butter with 1/4 cup Dijon mustard and 2 tbsp. honey. Toss the wings with the butter mixture.
  • Return wings to the oven until both sides are nicely browned, another 10 minutes or so (they’ll release easily from the pan when ready).
  • Raise the oven temperature to 200 degrees C and continue to cook until wings are crisp all over, about 10 more minutes. Then serve.

Maybe this is the easiest

Homemade KFC:

So it’s not the exact recipe, but it tastes pretty good.

What you need:

  • 8 pieces of chicken wing
  • Egg 1
  • Milk 1Cup
  • Flour 2Cups
  • Pepper 2tsp
  • Salt 3tsp
  • Garlic powder 4tsp
  • Paprika 1tsp
  • Vegetable oil for frying

 

If you haven’t guessed it yet, I love chicken wings. So if you have any recipes you think I should try, share below.

Let me know what you think :)

