Egg in a Hole :)

I’m trying to eat a little healthier so I’ve given up certain carbs so my body can focus more on burning fats. I was also advised to increase my salt intake, so soy sauce and sea salt now feature in my cupboard.It’s also about portions. It’s forced me to get a little creative with breakfast.

This is what I had for breakfast today.

IMG_20140726_112158

There’s probably a name for it and a fancy way of making it but this is what I did:

What you need:

  • 1 hoho (cut into rings)
  • 1/2 an eggplant (cut into thin slices, the length of the eggplant then halve them)
  • 1 egg
  • slices of raw zucchini
  • soy sauce
  • pinch oregano
  • pinch sea salt
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • coconut oil

What to do:

Lightly whisk the egg with the oregano, salt and cayenne pepper.

Heat oil in pan, use just enough to grease.

Put the hoho slices in the pan then arrange the eggplants in the center (as many as you’d like). Add the egg to the center of each hoho ring. If there is overflow, let it cook a little then fold the overflow towards the center. Turn each ring over, cover and turn the heat. Leave it for 5-10 mins.

Serve on a plate and add the and garnish with zucchini dipped in soy sauce.

 

If you know ways I can improve on this, comment below.

Let me know what you think :)

